National Comics was first published by Quality Comics in July 1940. It was an anthology comic book and ran for 75 issues.

The first issue saw the debut of the superhero Uncle Sam, created by Will Eisner. Other artists and writers whose work appeared in the pages of National Comics included Lou Fine, Reed Crandall, and Jack Cole. Regular features included The Barker, Wonder Boy, and Quicksilver, who later appeared in DC Comics as Max Mercury.

Issue #18 is famous as a month after it ran a story about a German attack on Pearl Harbor, the Japanese carried out their fateful attack on the naval base.

Issue #75 in November 1949 ended the run, however in May 1999, DC Comics published a one-off National Comics as part of their Justice Society Returns storyline.

To read a comic book, click on one of the covers beneath. Click on the sections on the right to navigate through the site.


National Comics - 37 Issues